BrodartVibe

Prepublication Reviews and Expertly Selected Title Lists

Christmas Bells by Jennifer Chaverini

Christmas BellsI like Jennifer Chaverini but I have to admit that I haven’t read one of her books in quite some time. I’m not a huge fan of Christmas books because they tend to create images of snowy nights and the world at peace (when it’s not); however, I was taken in by this book.

Chaverini does a brilliant job of interweaving the stories of a teacher who is about to be downsized, a family that has a father serving in Afghanistan, and the story of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

While it may take a minute to place the characters as you move through their stories, the depth and quality of the story is superb.  I would recommend this for any library collection. I believe it will circulate for years to come, and it will bring a whole new life to the Christmas song and Wadsworth poem I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day  

When I hear the bells this Christmas, I know I’ll think fondly of this book and hope that one day we will have good will and peace towards all men.

– Becky

Order in Bibz.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

