BrodartVibe

Prepublication Reviews and Expertly Selected Title Lists

Once Upon a Time by Debbie Macomber

9781451607796 onceHaving never read any of Macomber’s books, I was a little apprehensive of reading Once Upon a Time.  As I began reading, I realized it was nonfiction, which made me a bit more leery of continuing.  Nevertheless, the blog must go on and I have a duty.

We all have a story to tell.  It’s unique and the greatest story of all.  With verses from the Bible and inspirational quotes from the likes of John Updike, Madeleine L’Engle, and more, Macomber gives readers the encouragement to discover and tell their stories.

She shares tips on her writing style, from the story setting and back-story, to the conflict and transformation of the character. But she doesn’t stop there; she opens up about her own life story so readers get to know her better. She also ends of each chapter with various prompts for the reader to further engage their storytelling process.

I can see why fans love her writing so much.  Throughout the inspirational book, Macomber made me laugh, cry, pause and think, and even motivated me.  I highly recommend Once Upon a Time to struggling writers, those looking for a positive message, and any fan of Macomber. I, for one, will be sure to check out more of her titles.

~Amanda

Learn more about this title here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

