BrodartVibe

Prepublication Reviews and Expertly Selected Title Lists

So Damn Lucky by Deborah Coonts

In the battle between stand-alone books and those in a series, I usually lean toward series. I find when reading a stand-alone book, I often wonder what happens next. When you’re reading a book in a series, you find out, even if you have to wait a year or so to read about it. One of my current favorite series comes from Deborah Coonts, and her latest entry featuring Lucky O’Toole, So Damn Lucky, definitely took the books in a new direction.

Lucky, Head of Customer Relations for the Babylon Hotel and general Las Vegas extraordinaire, is not only dealing with the departure of her boyfriend, Teddie (who left for a worldwide concert tour in the previous book Lucky Stiff), but with the mysterious disappearance of a magician under her employ. While trying to figure out what happened while he was attempting Houdini’s most famous stunt, she comes across what appears to be a government cover up involving psychics and possibly Area 51. On top of all that, she’s got her newly pregnant mother, and her raging hormones, and her growing relationship with her father. When Lucky finally decides it’s time to tell the world she and The Big Boss are father and daughter, her professional life begins to grow.

The mystery in this book felt much more involved than the previous two Lucky has solved. Maybe it was all the names of the magicians involved, but I often found myself having to stop and think about who was who, and who was where, and why they were there. However, by the end of the book, I felt it was wrapped up nicely and all the clues made sense.

I wasn’t as impressed with the way her relationship with Teddie was handled. While I had my reservations about the two of them being together, I felt the resolution between the two was almost rushed, and it didn’t feel like the same Teddie I’d met in the first book, Wanna Get Lucky?. If this was by Coonts’ choice in order to help move Lucky’s personal life forward, she succeeded.

As with the previous two books, Coonts’ wonderful sense of humor shines through Lucky, and I once again found myself belly laughing out loud. While trolling her Web site, I found out she’s released an online-only novella, Lucky in Love, so as soon as I’m done writing this, I will be heading over there to purchase and read it. Hopefully that will be the little kick I need to hold me over until the next Lucky book is released.

~Brittany

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “So Damn Lucky by Deborah Coonts

  1. Thanks so much for the wonderful review! Hope you liked LUCKY IN LOVE:) I just finished the fourth book, LUCKY BASTARD:) will put a bit of polish on it, then send it off and on to the next…a novella, LUCKY BANG due out July 1, in digital format. Guess I better get busy…:)

Leave a Reply

