BrodartVibe

Prepublication Reviews and Expertly Selected Title Lists

Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake by Anna Quindlen

I was thoroughly tickled to see a new Anna Quindlen title! I have been a big fan for years, especially of her nonfiction works. She was really the primary reason I subscribed to Newsweek for such a long time (well that, plus the subscription was a recurring fundraiser project for my niece!), and I was practically crushed when she retired her column a few years ago. Those who feel the same as I do are in for a real treat. In Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake, Quindlen does what she does best: write spot-on essays about motherhood, feminism, careers, family, faith, relationships, work—she runs the whole gamut and nothing is too sacred to be pondered upon. While the topics are familiar, they are written with a fresh focus on her reflections about the aging process and what it means to her. The musings are both relevant and timeless and I found myself more than once nodding and smiling at how her words rang true and spoke to me.

The chapters are arranged into sub-topics, kind of like her well-known newspaper articles, which make the book easy to put down and pick up right where you left off. Quindlen knows her audience and adjusts her musings as such; knowing most of her readers are probably hiding in the bathroom away from the kids while reading her book. (Or maybe that’s just me!) Multi-tasker that I am, I dragged this lovely volume with me everywhere I went until I was finished. It was like reading my life-story in fast-forward since Quindlen is just a few years beyond me, and was very interesting to see what will be in store down the road. It is exciting and frightening at the same time, but as Quindlen knows, the journey itself is totally inevitable.

A real gem for those readers who love this author, and I highly recommend this to every woman I know riding into her glory years. This would make a wonderful read for Mother’s Day, your best girlfriend, sister, aunt, co-worker and anybody else who appreciates the honest and inspiring musings of our generation’s storyteller.

~Susan

To learn more about this title, visit http://bit.ly/GW5COC

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

