BrodartVibe

Prepublication Reviews and Expertly Selected Title Lists

The Duckling Gets a Cookie?! by Mo Willems

I’m the proud mother of an almost six month old baby boy, and our bedtime routine has just recently begun including story time (which makes this book lover thrilled!). I recently read the galley of Mo Willems’ The Duckling Gets a Cookie?! to him. Even though he’s still too young to fully enjoy the book, I thought it was great!

In Willems’ newest Pigeon book, the Pigeon is very upset when he sees the duckling has been given a cookie, simply because he asked. What follows is a rant from Pigeon of all the things HE asks for and doesn’t get. The ending was sweet and funny at the same time (and I won’t spoil it for future readers!).

Not only was the story line funny (I especially found some of the things Pigeon asks for to be hilarious), but Willems stealthily sneaks in moral lessons about asking politely and sharing. Children may not be aware of them, but they’re learning them nonetheless.

The illustrations Willems uses are simple yet clean, and I was amazed at how many different facial expressions he could create for Pigeon. I wish I had that talent!

Being new to children’s books, and having this be my first Pigeon book, I’m not sure if they all involve the same sort of relationship between Pigeon and Duckling and a moral lesson. Whether they do or not doesn’t matter—I’ll continue reading them to my son, and think other parents should, too. Having them on your library shelves is the perfect way to get them started!

~Brittany

Learn more about this title at http://bit.ly/wHhpoI

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Duckling Gets a Cookie?! by Mo Willems

  1. The Duckling doesn’t show up in all the books, but there is a moral to each book presented in a similarly entertaining fashion. My personal favorite is Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

