BrodartVibe

Prepublication Reviews and Expertly Selected Title Lists

New & Noteworthy

Sapphique by Catherine Fisher

I must admit that when I began reading Sapphique by Catherine Fisher, I was completely confused. I went against my rule of reading books in series order and I’m sure therein lies the confusion, since I had not read the first book in the series, Incarceron.

The book is composed of five “acts”, flipping back and forth between Attia and Keiro and Finn and Claudia. Act one opens with Attia, a dog-slave, joining the Dark Enchanter on a journey with his side acts. This journey for Attia has one purpose; the Dark Enchanter has in his possession Sapphique’s glove. Meanwhile, Finn and Claudia are in the Outside world with troubles of their own.

The second act begins with Attia and Keiro, Finn’s Oathbrother, taking the glove from Rix (aka the Dark Enchanter) and continuing their journey to the Outside. Finn and Claudia, on the Outside, face the struggles of dealing with the Queen and the impending coronation of Prince Giles (aka Finn). To add to Finn and Claudia’s troubles, another Prince Giles appears and claims that he is the real prince and that Finn is a fraud.

Act three finds Finn and Claudia in an ambush. For me, this is where the story really pulled me in. I could see the action and danger unfolding.

The fourth act unleashes a storm, both physically and metaphorically. Just when I thought I’d finally gotten a handle on what was happening, I found myself confused all over again. I happen to like puzzles, though, so I forged ahead.

The final act in the story is jammed pack with excitement, action, and speed. The Outside world is shown without the illusion that everyone has been living with. All of the events wrapped into a good ending, leaving plenty of questions that are sure to be answered in the next book of the series.

This book reminded me of many movies/books that I have watched/read from Harry Potter (magic) to Alice in Wonderland (different realms and an evil queen) to Lord of the Rings (odd creatures and a powerful item).

To be honest, I only picked up this book to read because someone asked me if I would. However, if I had to do read it all over again, I would (only this time, I would read the first book in the series before starting this one). If you haven’t yet put these books on your shelves, I highly recommend you order copies right now. Fans of The Hunger Games and The City of Ember will be ready to devour both Incarceron and Sapphique.

~Amanda

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

